Return of a call being transferred (kb2096)

The information in this article applies to:

  • SwyxIt! since v3.20

[ Summary | Information ]


The feature "Call Transfer" can be used to transfer a call to another user. When calling the other user, it is possible to click "Call Transfer" even though the called user hasn't answered the call yet (Blind Call Transfer). If the called user doesn't answer the call within 30 seconds, the call will be transferred back to the originator. This article describes how to change the timeout of 20 seconds.


IMPORTANT: This article contains information about editing the registry. Before you edit the registry, make sure you understand how to restore it if a problem occurs. For information about how to do this, view the "Restoring the Registry" Help topic in Regedit.exe or the "Restoring a Registry Key" Help topic in Regedt32.exe. The Timout of 20 seconds is a value being hold by the client (SwyxIt!). To change the timeout for each client who wants to use another value, the registry must be modified. To do so please follow these instructions:

  1. Start registry editor (regedit.exe).
  2. Add a new value (DWORD) 'TransferringStateTimeout' placed under key: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Swyx\Client Line Manager\CurrentVersion\Options]
  3. Edit this new value and type in the number of seconds after the call should be returned. Example: 20 for 20 seconds
  4. Restart SwyxIt

Any call being transferred to a such modified client will now be transferred back to the originator, if the called user doesn't answer it after the time given.


Comment on this article

If we have any follow-up questions, where can we contact you?

E-Mail Address (optional)


This feedback form can't be used for support requests. Those requests must be directed to your Swyx reseller or distributor.