As a meeting host you can define and change the access data and behaviour of your virtual meeting room in Swyx Meeting at any time, after you have logged in with your username and password to meeting.swyx.com.
The web invite link using your room code
The Meeting room is set up and reachable by a unique numeric room code. This URL invite link is convenient for guests that would like to join using a web browser, but also guests using phone dial-in with audio only need this room code. For dial-in information refer to the dial-in section.
Sample link format: meeting.swyx.com/meeting/MEETINGID
Note: The room code can be changed at any time by the host to a new randomly and irrevocably set new room code, by just one click within the room settings page after host login. A changed room code is valid after the host logs off and in again. The meeting room can no longer be reached by web browser or dial-in access using the previous room code.
If only the room code is changed, the room can still be reached via the web link with the room name. Your dial-in guests must also receive the information about the new room code – refer to the dial-in invite section.
The web invite link with your room name
In addition to the room code, the meeting room is also accessible by using an alphanumeric room name which is often simple to remember. The host can change the room name at any time within the room settings page after host login. The system ensures that a room name is unique within the Swyx Meeting system. The room name can be used in invitation links as an alternative to the invitation link with the room number. Please note that an invite link with the room name cannot be used by dial-in guests as they need the room code, refer to the hints on dial-in.
Sample link format: meeting.swyx.com/meeting/ROOMNAME
Note: If only the room name is changed, the room can still be reached via the web link with the room code. Your dial-in guests can still reach the room if the room code remains unchanged.
The dial-in invite for access via phone
The dial in numbers to the Swyx Meeting service are local to many countries and can be shared together with brief instructions how to login using the room code for dial-in by the host as a separate URL invite link. The host can pick this Link from the Meetings settings page. The room code itself is the same for both, dial-in and for web access.
Sample link format: meeting.swyx.com/dialin/MEETINGID
Note: If a meeting room code gets changed, the dial in users would need to receive the new room code as well to join again.
The waiting room
The virtual guest waiting room is enabled for each meeting by default. All guests will be placed in the waiting room until the host has logged in and accepts each guest to join the meeting room. Optionally, as the host you can configure that guests can directly join your meeting room with bypassing the waiting room. At any time during a meeting you can also change this again and lock your meeting room. Any later guest will then be placed again in the waiting room and needs the host approval for joining the meeting. Of course, you can also remove people from your waiting room as well as from your meeting room.
Practical recommendations in a meeting
It is recommended to use the Swyx Meeting waiting room to ensure only guests you accept join your meeting room. This is the default setting. If you grant access for all guests e.g. in the first minutes when a meeting starts by enabling "Accept automatically", you might consider locking the meeting room after the intended guests have been accepted by disabling "Accept automatically" again. Any further guests will be placed in your waiting room instead your meeting room again.
The host can enable sound notifications (within the settings dialogue) to get notified by a tone if a guest e.g. arrives in your waiting room, leaves your meeting, or requests screen share. Regardless the sound notification setting the host is also to see a marker in the browser page headline which also indicate such events.
As a host you can also mute audio for all your guests with one click in the settings dialogue (e.g. if you run a presentation to some listening audience). The host is also able to disable all guest videos (e.g. to save network traffic and reduce bandwidth use).
Ending a meeting
If the host ends a meeting using “end meeting” (logs off guests and keeps the host logged in) instead “leave meeting” (logs off guests and the host), any uploaded files from the previous meeting session will remain. The host can verify the files in the files upload section and decide for each one to keep or delete it before a new meeting is started. If you end the meeting using “leave meeting” uploaded files will be removed.
If you just close the Swyx Meeting browser window (by intention or by accident), the meeting session will remain for 60 sec for your guests and they are informed that you lost connection and you as the host can re-join in this time frame to directly continue your meeting with your guests. After this time frame the guests will be logged off.
It is recommended to always end the meeting session by using the “end meeting” or “leave meeting” buttons.
- Swyx Meeting FAQ: https://service.swyx.net/hc/en-gb/categories/360000924720-Swyx-Meeting
- Swyx Meeting Manual: https://help.swyx.com/docs/manuals/english/Swyx_Meeting.pdf